Defeat Garden

Radish Top Soup

Posted on: May 18, 2010

Tonight we had radish top soup.  This recipe is actually in The Victory Garden Cookbook, but I decided to make it because Ruth included it in our CSA weekly newsletter.  We joined the CSA later in the season last year and missed the first few weeks, so this is the first time I made this recipe. I have to say, it was pretty good!  Here’s the recipe per the book/newsletter:

6 T butter

8 c loosely packed radish leaves

6 c liquid (stock, water or combo)

1/2 c heavy cream – optional

1 c chopped onions/white leek portions

2 c diced peeled potatoes

salt

freshly ground pepper

For those of you who’ve actually seen me cook before, you know that I almost never follow a recipe exactly, even the first time I make it.  I’m big on improvising to fit either what fits into the new way that we’ve been eating, or to fit whatever I have on hand.  So, this is how I made it: 

6 T butter

the leaves from a bunch of radishes (that we snacked on yesterday) from the farm, turnip greens from the farm, and spinach from the farm

1 can chicken broth

about 1/3 cup heavy cream (I’m saving the rest for later this week!)

1 chopped vidalia onion (we can’t get enough of those while they’re still in season!)

the small turnips from the farm, chopped

pepper – I was going to use the salt, but the broth was enough

Melt the butter in a pan, and chop the onion and turnips while it’s melting. As you can tell, I didn’t really do a fine chop, just broke it into smaller pieces that were a little easier to work with.  I also had to try one of the little turnips – I’ve never had them fresh and new like that.  They were pretty good!

Boil the turnips in the chicken broth in a separate pan/pot.

Add to the pan, and start pulling the leaves off of the greens.

I always forget how long this can take, and I was a little nervous my onions would carmelize (I didn’t want them to), but it worked out just fine.  Here’s the greens that I had after plucking the stems:

I love this colander, by the way!  When I married my husband, we registered at Wal-Mart and Target, and since we already had most of the things we needed that most couples register for, we registered for some kind of crazy things, like toilet paper and movies, games to play with the kids.  There was one thing that was “normal” and that was this colander set.  My mother-in-law got it for me for my birthday instead of as a wedding present because she said she wanted to make sure that I got the one thing I really wanted 🙂

Here’s what my stove looked like after I got the greens washed off and ready to go in:

Onions & butter in the pan, and turnips cooking in broth in the pot.  Then, I added my greens!  I’m always amazed at how much greens cook down in heat.  We’ve been eating them pretty regularly the last year and a half, but I still feel like a kid when I see the difference.  See for yourself!

Before:

and After:

After the greens were cooked down (it took about 10 minutes – I normally cover the pan with another pan to cut down on cooking time since supper gets started late around here!), I added the turnips to the pan and cooked for another 5 minutes or so.

Then, I got to use my brand new food processer that I got for Mother’s Day 🙂  I just put it all in there and chopped it up until it looked soupy.

It was really good, too.  There’s a nice, light flavor to it that I didn’t expect.  I think I’m going to try it tomorrow for lunch as a cold soup – another first for me!

2 Responses to "Radish Top Soup"

I have never used radish tops before! Looks great and congrats on the new food processor.

I never had either – didn’t even know they were edible 🙂 And thanks! We’ve really been enjoying the food processor 🙂

Leave a Reply

