Defeat Garden

Easy Skillet Chicken Florentine

Posted on: May 19, 2010

I picked up the kids after school/work tonight, and their first question (as usual) was:  What’s for supper, Mom?  I had no idea, so they asked me to make “chicken with spinach.”  Amazingly enough, my kids (8 and 6) love this, and my daughter told me if I made it for supper, today would be one of the best days of her life.  Their last day of school is tomorrow, and today was their field day, or Try-A-Thon.

So I decided to be nice and make it for them!  This is one of the first new recipes I tried when we revamped our eating habits, and it’s definitely been a keeper.  It’s really easy, all in one skillet, and it’s cheesy.  Can’t beat that, right?  I’ve even made it for both sets of parents, and they liked it too.

Ingredients for this recipe include 3-4 chicken breasts (or other pieces of chicken, whatever you have on hand), thawed and drained frozen spinach (or fresh, but I used all of my fresh last night!), garlic, heavy cream (or half and half) and parmesan cheese.  As you can see, I’m a big fan of some of the easier ingredients.  I use the pre-grated parmesan because I don’t always like to work that hard 🙂  I also use the cheapest frozen spinach we can find.  I have to make a double batch of the spinach, because everyone in our house always wants a second helping.

The first thing to do is heat some olive oil in a skillet (season with salt and pepper), and add the chicken.  Let it brown on both sides – yum!

Then take the chicken out and let it sit on a plate while you cook the spinach and garlic.  This is the beauty of this recipe:  if you don’t want to take the chicken out, you really don’t have to, but I like to smell the garlic cooking on its own for a while.  After they cook for a while, add the chicken back into the skillet, and pour in the cream and parmesan.  My kids love to do this step, which might be why we get so much cheese!

Now for the best part:  cover the pan (with another pan is what I normally do), turn the heat to low, and let it cook for about 15 minutes.  Make sure to check it every once in a while, though.  Sometimes the cheese/cream mixture tends to burn onto the bottom of the pan.  After a while, it’s ready to serve!

Another night, another happy family 🙂

3 Responses to "Easy Skillet Chicken Florentine"

It looks so creamy & tasty! I love easy chicken recipe like this. It’s so quick and simple. Thanks for the idea.

Tes, I hope you enjoy it! Let me know what you think if you get a chance 🙂

[…] Easy Skillet Chicken Florentine May 2010 2 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

