Defeat Garden

Tarragon Chicken

Posted on: May 23, 2010

Here’s another easy chicken dish – one that’s good enough for company and deceptively simple. 

When I bring this to work for lunch, my coworkers ask me what I have and are always impressed by the answer.  I try to say that it’s not that difficult, but they never believe me.  They always think it’s a fancy dish.  Here’s the ingredients:

chicken – I use 3-4 chicken breasts, but you can use whatever you have on hand

butter

garlic

tarragon (I had some fresh tarragon from our CSA and it was fabulous, but you can also use dried)

salt and pepper

1/2 cup or so of white wine

To start, melt some butter in a skillet – about 2 tablespoons

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and brown on both sides

Chop the garlic and tarragon, add it to the skillet with the wine

Bring the whole thing to a boil, and reduce the heat and cover for about 1/2 an hour.  Make sure to turn the chicken over at least once in this time.

The first few times I cooked this, I had a nice sauce because of the reduced wine.  A few months ago, though, I got distracted and didn’t keep a close enough eye on the chicken.  What happened was a nice little accident 🙂  The wine had completely evaporated and left a beautiful dark brown crust on the chicken.  This also brought out some great flavor in the chicken, and since then I’ve tried to let the wine completely evaporate.  But, it’s good both ways!

4 Responses to "Tarragon Chicken"

I’LL GIVE IT A TRY TOMORROW!
JEAN

Really cool Kami! I can’t wait to try these recipes.

[…] I’ve posted Tarragon Chicken before (you can see it here). […]

[…] The busiest day of the year was May 23rd with 74 views. The most popular post that day was Tarragon Chicken. […]

Leave a Reply

