Defeat Garden

Chicken Dinner

Posted on: May 27, 2010

Lat night I made a recipe from The Victory Garden Cookbook.  It’s called Spring Radish, Chicken, and Scallion Dinner.  I say that I made this recipe, but I’m pretty sure it didn’t turn out like hers did!

Here is the recipe from the book:

1/2 lb whole trimmed red radishes (I didn’t have quite this many!)

8-10 large scallions (I used green garlic because that’s what I had)

2 carrots

1 onion

2 celery stalks (whoops, I used up my celery the other night!)

4 cups chicken broth (I was out, so I skipped this)

2 1/2-3 lb frying chicken (I just  cut up some chicken breasts)

1 cup dry white wine or vermouth

salt

herb bouquet: 1 bay leaf, 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp tarragon, 4 sprigs parsley

1/4 cup heavy cream

1/2 lb plus 1 Tb butter

Juice of 1 lemon

freshly ground pepper

Wash radishes; set aside. Wash and trim scallions, leaving 1-1 1/2 inches of green. Chop carrots, onion, and celery. Combine chicken broth and 2 cups wter, add the choppen vegetables, and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Strain broth, setting aside 2 cups.

Meanwhile, wash and cut chicken into serving pieces and arrange in a large saucepan or casserole. Pour in wine and remaining broth to cover (adding additional broth or water if needed). Lightly salt, add herb bouquet, then bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover, and slowly simmer chicken (or poach in a 325 oven). After 15-20 minutes, remove light meat; keep warm while dark meat finishes (5-10 minutes longer).

(I admit, I just chopped everything up and threw it into one pot and let it boil together while I did the other steps – I was a little lazy :))

While chicken is cooking, boil down 2 cups reserved broth to 1/4 cup. (My mistake on the sauce, I didn’t let it boil down enough so I didn’t get a very thick sauce.) Heat cream; keep warm. Add 1 tablespoon cream to broth; boil again until slightly thickened. Cut 1/2 pound cold butter (I didn’t use this much either – that’s 2 whole sticks of butter!  I love Paula Deen, and I’m sure she’d love this recipe, but I just couldn’t bring myself to use quite that much) into tablespoons. Over low heat, add butter to broth reduction tablespoon by tablespoon, whisking constantly. The sauce will thicken to a mayonnaise consistency (and if you’re not careful, will try to boil over your pot!). As you are whisking, squeeze in the lemon juice. After butter is incorporated, beat in remaining warm (not hot) cream. Season and hold over warm water.

Ten minutes before the chicken is cooked, steam-boil radishes with 1 tablespoon butter and 1/3 inch water until tender. Blanch scallions until tender in boiling salted water, 2-3 minutes, drain. (I just threw them in the boiling water from the chicken for a minute or two and then strained them out.)

Remove chicken. On individual plates, arrange separate portions of chicken, scallions, and radishes. Spoon the sauce over. It will just lightly cover the chicken and vegetables, allowing the delicate creamy chicken, light green scallion, and pale rose radish colors to show through.

I love reading her recipes, because it’s so obvious that she really adores her food!  I’m sure that her finished product looked amazing, but mine was just s0-so.  Although the taste was good!  We even tore up some of the lettuce that we got from Common Good Farm to have as a side (I let my daughter do that part). The sauce, while not thick like it was supposed to be, was a great dressing for the salad.  The man just piled it all on top of the lettuce and ate it as a salad 🙂

Leave a Reply

