Defeat Garden

Crustless Quiche

Posted on: May 30, 2010

This is another meal that I make often to help me use up vegetables that are on hand during the summer, or just when I want something that can be made ahead of time.  That was the main attraction for this meal this week!  Monday, Tuesday and Thursday we were away from home at supper time because of softball/t-ball games, so I wanted to make sure we had something fast and easy to eat on Thursday.

Wednesday night, I cut up some ham, bell pepper, onion, and tore up some of the spinach from our CSA.  Then I threw it all into a pie plate.

Then I started shredding some cheese.  We buy cheese in bulk at Sam’s Club because our family loves cheese!  That was one of the things the man said when we changed our diet – that if he couldn’t eat cheese on a diet, there was no way he was going to do it!  This is how much cheese I put into the quiche:

Yes, we really used that much cheese!  I also mixed up some eggs (normally it’s anywhere from 4-8, however many it takes to cover the veggies in your pan) with a little bit of cream and some salt and pepper.  Then I put the cheese and eggs on top of the vegetables in the pie plate.

Now, the best part.  I covered it all up and put it in the fridge.  I was ready to do this, at this point I think it was almost 9:30.

The next morning, I woke up and turned the oven on to 350 degrees.  I stuck the quiche (uncovered) in the oven and went and got ready for the day.  After about 45-50 minutes, the quiche was ready to come out of the oven.  It looks beautiful, doesn’t it?

Then, I put it into the fridge again and left for work.  The nice thing about a quiche is that you can eat it warm or cold, and it’s good either way.  So, that night when the man and the kids got home (they get here before me because the man goes to work and comes home earlier than me), they just had to warm up a piece of quiche for a minute or two and they could eat before they went to the games, instead of waiting until 8:30 or so when we got home!  It was, as usual, a delicious and easy supper!

1 Response to "Crustless Quiche"

That quiche looks great. And I agree about the make-ahead value. I often beat a couple of Tbs of flour into the mix and then while it’s baking, it settles and makes it’s own crust. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

