Defeat Garden

Shrimp and Broccoli Alfredo

Posted on: May 31, 2010

I’ve made this once before, and the man liked it 🙂 so I decided to make it again.  I originally got the recipe from Dana Carpender’s book, and of course, knowing me, I made a few changes to it.

Here’s what I used:

shrimp (we get it frozen at Super Saver already deveined, so I just have to thaw and shell them)

a bell pepper (this is really the only change I made, because I love bell peppers)

broccoli

cream

Parmesan cheese

and, of course, butter 🙂

First I melt the butter in the pan and throw in the chopped bell pepper to soften it up.  While this is going, I work on cutting the broccoli and shelling the shrimp.  (Cut the broccoli first, it takes longer to cook than the shrimp.)

After the broccoli is cut up, heat it just to boiling in a pot on another burner.  This will keep it nice and crisp instead of mushy.

Once the bell pepper is softened, throw in the cream and Parmesan cheese.  Let it cook for a while to thicken the sauce.

Once the sauce is the consistency you like it, put in the chopped broccoli.  If you’re not finished shelling the shrimp, it’s fine to let it all cook together for a while, then the sauce will get into all the nooks and crannies of the broccoli.

Once you’re finished with the shrimp, pile it in on top of the pan.  Stir in it while the shrimp cooks.  You’ll know when it’s done when the shrimp is pink.

My kids love to watch when I put the shrimp into the heat – their favorite part of the meal is watching it turn pink 🙂

(The boy is smiling at me because he saw that last comment and agrees!)

Plate it up and enjoy!  I added some lettuce that we had from our CSA farm on the side.  The girl picked up a lettuce leaf, dragged it in the alfredo sauce and said that we had to try it because it tastes so good!  I love to see them enjoying lettuce and other vegetables like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

