Defeat Garden

Cucumbers and Onions

Posted on: June 2, 2010

This is my take on my lovely Aunt’s famous cukes & onions :o)

First I make mayonnaise (yes, you read that right, I make my own mayonnaise).

Here’s the recipe – mix 1 egg, 1/2 teaspoon dried ground mustard, a dash of tabasco sauce, 1 1/2 Tbl vinegar, 1 1/2 Tbl lemon juice in the blender – then add olive oil (or another oil) in a thin stream until it thickens.  See, it’s easy!

Then I mixed the mayonnaise with sour cream (about 2 cups, the same amount as the mayonnaise) and a splash of wine vinegar. Season with salt and pepper, and in this case, some fresh dill from the farm!

Mix it together in a big bowl with some cucumbers and some onions.  I used 3 large cucumbers and 2 large Vidalia onions.  Eat it fresh if you want, but it’s amazing the next day 🙂

1 Response to "Cucumbers and Onions"

[…] I’ve even made my own version of my Aunt Donna’s famous (at least in our family!) cukes and onions.  I found this recipe last year and made it for myself (because Kevin doesn’t really like […]

Leave a Reply

