Defeat Garden

Carmelized Onions over Asparagus

Posted on: June 5, 2010

We’ve been getting lots and lots of sweet Vidalia onions while they’re still in season.  I love these onions so much, I really think I could eat them all day, every day 🙂  I found a fabulous recipe on the internet, and I think I’m in love.  Go to Joyful Abode for this recipe.  There are also tons of other really good looking recipes on there.  Here’s what the one I made ended up looking like:

The recipe on Joyful Abode is as follows:

  • a bundle of asparagus
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 T aged balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons mustard (dijon is good but all I had was yellow)
  • fresh parsley

I was going to go more into detail, but really, her website has great step by step instructions and photos.  Trust me on this one, it’s wonderful!  Even if you don’t follow the recipe exactly, it’ll still taste great.  I know that I used more mustard once, and it’s a different flavor, but even if all you do is carmelize the onions (with or without the asparagus), it’s still amazing.  So, go check out the site!

http://www.joyfulabode.com/2009/07/29/asparagus-with-caramelized-balsamic-onions/

1 Response to "Carmelized Onions over Asparagus"

[…] one of my cookbooks for pork chops with creamy mustard sauce, and I also wanted to make my favorite onions again!  Here are my ingredients for the […]

Leave a Reply

