Defeat Garden

Carrot chips

Posted on: June 6, 2010

I’ve really been in a snacky mood lately, and these are the perfect snack, in my opinion!  This is what we had for supper on Saturday night after going to the zoo with my little sister and her friend/friend’s daughter.

Poor Man, I think he was actually hungry that night, but I wasn’t in the mood to cook.  The ingredients for this are very simple: one bag of carrots, peeled and sliced, butter (I used one stick, but could have gotten away with less), and some salt.

Melt the butter in a big pan, peel and chop the carrots.  When the carrots are ready and the butter is melted, throw them in the pan.

Keep them in the pan, turning occasionally, until the carrots start to turn the lovely shade of brown/black you can see above.  If you want, you can add salt while they’re cooking.  I use either Kosher salt (because it only takes a little to make a huge flavor impact) or regular salt.  But be careful, it really only takes a little!

I first found this recipe on the internet, again on Joyful Abode.  I was a little leery of them at first, but we had a huge bag of carrots and I figured, why not try them?  So the first time I only made a few carrots to see how they’d go over with my family.

After the first batch that night, I knew we had a keeper!

The only bad thing about them is that they can take a long time to cook to the right texture, especially when I cooked a bigger batch.  I do have to admit that they are totally worth the wait, though!

Leave a Reply

