Defeat Garden

Rosy Radish Salad

Posted on: June 6, 2010

Here’s another snacky dish that I made for supper tonight.  This one is from Dana Carpender’s amazing book!

I never really liked radishes when I was younger, but last year and this year, I am absolutely in love with them! My Dad would be surprised, I think 🙂 I’ve been buying two to three bunches of radishes each weekend at the farmer’s market.  There were also some beautiful garden fresh green beans at the grocery store last weekend, so I went on the hunt for a recipe to use both of them that wouldn’t heat up my kitchen.

I’m always amazed at the recipes I find in my lovely old, food-stained copy of 500 Low Carb Recipes.

It calls for about 1/2 pound of radishes (I just used one bunch)

1 package of frozen green beans (I used the fresh ones, because I love those, too!)

one diced yellow onion (it’s good this way, but this time I used some new onions – again from the farmer’s market)

1 1/2 Tablespoon of cider vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar (but I used a little bit of local honey from the farmer’s market instead)

salt and pepper

First, steam the green beans until they are just crisp – with the fresh ones, I just put them into a pot and take them off of the heat as soon as it starts boiling, this makes them just the consistency that Kevin likes them).

Slice the radishes and dice the onion.  (Today I threw the radishes in with the green beans and cooked them but it’s good either way.)

Mix the sauce (vinegar, sweetener, salt and pepper).

Throw everything into one dish and mix together.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to "Rosy Radish Salad"

looks good – i wonder if it would be good with snap peas…seems like it would be. enjoy reading your cooking ideas and recipes and all the stuff you use from the farm 🙂

thanks!
ruth @ common good farm

yum! I bet it would be amazing with snap peas – I’m going to have to try that!

Leave a Reply

