Defeat Garden

Pork chops and onions

Posted on: June 12, 2010

It’s been a busy week in our house!  We had three different ball games, summer program at the YMCA started for the kids, one went to a friend’s house to spend the night, and the other had a friend over at our house to spend the night.  Honestly, I have a hard time remembering what I made for supper most of the week!  Here’s what I made on Wednesday night, the one night that we were all home and didn’t have anything to do 🙂

I got inspiration for this from a few different places.  There’s a recipe in one of my cookbooks for pork chops with creamy mustard sauce, and I also wanted to make my favorite onions again!  Here are my ingredients for the meal:

pork chops (I use three, and then cut them in half so they cook better on the stove top)

salt and pepper and fresh parsley to season

olive oil (except I switched this out after I took the picture and I used some bacon grease instead)

onions (still loving the Vidalia onions!)

some cheap white wine (although red would be good, too!)

dijon mustard

cream

I chopped up the onions and put them in one pan, heated up and seasoned another pan, and added the pork chops.  After a few minutes, I flipped over the pork chops and let them brown on the other side as well.

The onions take a while to get to the point where they’re carmelized, and I noticed that they didn’t really carmelize as much when they were cooked in the bacon grease.  They were still delicious, though!

I didn’t make the sauce for the onions tonight, I just made a little extra mustard sauce to go over the top of the chops and the onions.

After the pork chops were nicely cooked on both sides, I took them out and set them on a plate for a while.  Then I poured in a few tablespoons of white wine and let it cook for about a minute and a half or so.  Make sure to scrape up the little brown pieces of pork chops that are on the bottom of the pan!  My Dad always loved eating those pieces the best, and I’m inclined to agree with him now!

Once the wine has reduced a bit, you can add the dijon mustard and the cream.  Add about equal amounts of these, leaning a little more heavily on the dijon mustard.  This is what it looks like before you stir it in:

After it’s all stirred together, it makes a gorgeous yellow/brown thick sauce:

I knew the kids wouldn’t be a big fan of the sauce, so I had plenty to go around for the grown-up’s food.  We spooned it on top of the pork chops, mixed it into the onions, and even used it as a salad dressing.  We’ve gotten some beautiful lettuce from our CSA the last few weeks, so I’ve been trying to remember to have a salad every night.  It’s amazing how when you stop eating lots of dressing, the simple sauces like this can really bring out the flavor of the lettuce itself.  The man loved this meal, and requested that I make it again, and often 🙂

2 Responses to "Pork chops and onions"

Your sauce looks amazing. I also love those Vidalia onions although I think the ones that we get in our CSA are a slightly different variety. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

