Defeat Garden

Pork chops with cheesy broccoli

Posted on: June 27, 2010

The man’s one request for supper last week was cheesy broccoli.  He didn’t care what else I made, but he wanted that.  Here’s how it turned out:

Here are my ingredients:

3 pork chops (cut in half for easier cooking)

Italian seasonings

olive oil

broccoli (including some fresh from Common Good Farm)

cauliflower (again, fresh from the farm!)

heavy cream

milk

cheddar cheese

first I cut up the broccoli and cauliflower, and started the cream/milk heating up in a saucepan.

Don’t they look pretty?

Once the cream and milk was warmed, but not boiling, I seasoned the skillet for the pork chops and started browning them.  Then I seasoned the other side of the chops.

Then I started adding the cheese to the cream.  I added it a little at a time and kept stirring the whole time to avoid burning on the bottom of the pot.

I think that was the hardest part about this meal, constantly stirring for the 5-10 minutes that it took for all of the cheese to melt!

But it was worth it, it made a delicious sauce 🙂  After about half of the cheese was melted in, it was time to flip the chops.  Then I kept adding more cheese!

The great thing about having kids is that you can make them do the boring parts about supper 🙂  The girl was nice enough to chop up the heads of broccoli and cauliflower, and the boy shredded the cheese for me.  I think that’s his favorite thing to do, because he always eats some of the cheese!

Leave a Reply

