Defeat Garden

Spicy Thai Shrimp Soup

Posted on: June 29, 2010

I am unabashedly posting a recipe that the man sent me from another site – here’s the recipe:  TLC

Here’s my finished product:

The first time I made this was because the man sent me the link and it sounded good 🙂  This time, I felt like shrimp and I felt like spicy food.  Yet it had to be something that wasn’t so spicy the kids wouldn’t eat it.  This fit the bill perfectly!

Here are the ingredients

shrimp (shelled, but keep the shells!)

jalapenos, slivered

paprika

ground red pepper

lemon and lime peels

chicken broth (I used my broth from Sunday)

juice from the lemon and lime(s)

mushrooms

chicken broth

red chili (Thai chili if you can, but our grocery store didn’t have any so I used a Red Fresno instead), slivered

soy sauce

After you have all of the ingredients put together, you will stir-fry the shrimp and the jalapeno slivers in some oil – I use olive oil, but you could also use any vegetable oil

When the shrimp is almost cooked through (almost completely pink), add about 1 Tablespoon of paprika and about 1/2 teaspoon (or more or less to taste) and mix it all together.

Once it’s all mixed up, remove the shrimp and put them on a plate.

Next, add the chicken broth to the wok. You’ll add the lemon and lime peels and the shrimp shells in this step as well.

Bring it to a boil, and then let it simmer for about 15 minutes.

Then remove the peels and shells.

The girl thought it was weird that I would put them in and then take them out instead of leaving them in the soup 🙂 Then I asked her if she wanted to eat a lemon peel and she changed her mind.

Next, add the mushrooms and the shrimp mixture back to the pot, along with the lemon/lime juice.

I had the boy squeeze the juice from the lemon and the limes – he seemed to think it was fun!

Once this heats up to boiling again, add a few Tablespoons of soy sauce and the red pepper.

Serve with a sprinkle of cilantro, if you like.  I wish I had some fresh cilantro, I think it would have made this soup even better.

Although, I don’t think the girl was complaining 🙂

2 Responses to "Spicy Thai Shrimp Soup"

Thank you so much for letting us know this spicy thai Shrimp Stir Fry. I will try to cook this one on Sunday. I hope my kids and my husband will like this one. Keep on sharing!

I hope that you enjoy it! My daughter asks me to make this recipe at least once every week 🙂

Leave a Reply

