Defeat Garden

Apple Bacon Chicken

Posted on: June 30, 2010

I got some chicken from one of the farmers at the farmer’s market downtown last weekend, and wanted to think of a new way to cook it up.  I did some searching for chicken recipes and decided that I wanted to try apples with chicken and bacon.  Tonight was really a night of experimenting and using what I had to make supper 🙂  It was fun, and it even tastes good!

Here is what I used:

Bacon

Chicken (in bite sized pieces)

Apples (sliced)

celery (chopped)

mushrooms (chopped)

green onions (chopped)

garlic (minced)

tarragon and basil (but really you could use pretty much any kind of herbs)

cooking sherry

First, I cooked the bacon in the pan until it was nice and crispy, but not burned.  Then, I tossed in the chicken and cooked it through in the bacon fat.

After the chicken was cooked, I added the apple slices and cooked them until they were just starting to get limp.

I couldn’t figure out what I was going to use to deglaze the pan.  I told the man that normally I’d use some white wine but I used the last of it this weekend.  Mr. Smartypants recommended using cooking sherry, so I used that 🙂

After the apples were cooked, I added a few tablespoons of cooking sherry, and the vegetables and herbs.

I covered the pan and let it all cook together for a while (mostly to cook out the alcohol).

Then I added the chicken back into the pan for a few minutes, let it warm through, and served with bacon sprinkled over the top.

My original plan was to wrap the bacon around the pieces of chicken, but I decided that was too much work 🙂  Although if somebody tries it, please let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

