Defeat Garden

Asian coleslaw

Posted on: July 11, 2010

I had cabbage to use last weekend, lots of cabbage!  We had already had the runza skillet, so I had to think of something else to make 🙂  I like coleslaw, but most of the sauces are so sugary and sweet (at least to my taste) that I don’t want to eat very much of it.  I knew if I made coleslaw, it had to be something with a light sauce.

So, I bugged the man (again) to find me a recipe.  He did!  The sauce really makes this.

Here‘s the recipe the man read off to me.

Most of what I used in this recipe came from our CSA box.  I didn’t even realize it until I was finished making it 🙂

I used:

one head of green cabbage (from Common Good Farm)

one head of red cabbage (from Common Good Farm)

one onion

a few carrots, shredded

a head of fennel (from Common Good Farm)

a kohlrabi (from Common Good Farm)

some green onions (from Common Good Farm)

some sesame seeds I had sitting in the cupboard

and for the sauce:

soy sauce

sesame oil

a little red wine vinegar

some shredded (frozen because it keeps longer) ginger

celery salt and pepper

Slice up all the slaw ingredients into a big bowl (you could also substitute ingredients like I did – I think the recipe the man read to me called for apples, but I was out, and I had some fennel that I didn’t know what to do with, so I used it instead!)  Mix the sauce ingredients in a smaller bowl, then stir it all together and enjoy!

My Mom enjoyed this recipe – she mentioned how the sauce had a nice light flavor to it.  That’s pretty high praise coming from my Mom, so now you have to try it! 🙂

2 Responses to "Asian coleslaw"

looks very lovely. will use the recipe in the csa newsletter sometime if that is okay — do you know where kevin found the recipe?

thanks.
ruth

Ruth – here’s the link for the recipe: http://www.recipe.com/asian-coleslaw/

I don’t think it would have been half as lovely if it weren’t for your lovely produce 🙂

Leave a Reply

