Defeat Garden

Zucchini soup

Posted on: July 21, 2010

We’ve been trying to use up some zucchini lately, so I looked up a recipe online to use them up.  There are lots of zucchini bread and pancake and other grainy recipes, so if you’re interested in any of those, just do a search and you’ll find lots!  However, we don’t really do grainy things in our house anymore, so I had to sift through lots of recipes before I found this one!  (here)

Here are my ingredients:

one onion (chopped)

garlic (minced)

carrot (shredded)

butter

zucchini (chopped)

apples (chopped – I forgot to peel them, but that would be a good idea!)

chicken broth

curry powder, salt, pepper

First, melt some butter and saute the onion, garlic, and carrot.

Then, add the other ingredients and bring to a boil.  Let simmer for 20 minutes or so.

Puree the soup in small batches in either a food processor or a blender.

If you want, add some fresh cilantro when you serve it, cilantro does amazing things with curry 🙂

The soup has an almost sweet taste because of the apples, and it’s also not a heavy taste.  I think it would be good with some cream added in, also.

3 Responses to "Zucchini soup"

This looks excellent. I was surprised about the apples but I always put them in broccoli soup also.

I would love to see your recipe for broccoli soup – is it on your blog?

Not yet but I got it from A Chef’s Notebook by Robert Engel.

Leave a Reply

