Defeat Garden

Chicken something or other

Posted on: July 22, 2010

I’ve been trying to use up most of the food in the refrigerator since we’re going on vacation next week, so this is what I came up with tonight.  I had a nice bunch of kale to use up, and I was thinking about stuffing some chicken breasts with kale and cheese, but then I saw how much kale I had 🙂

I knew it wouldn’t work to stuff that much kale into three chicken breasts, so I changed my plan.  I started going through my refrigerator and pantry to see what I had around.

I pulled out:

an onion

some garlic (fresh garlic from the farm – it’s amazing how much better this garlic smells and tastes than regular store-bought garlic!!)

green pepper

tomato soup

seasonings – I think I used cilantro, red pepper flakes, coriander, oregano, and salt and pepper

I put the onion, green pepper and garlic into one pan to soften them up while I put the chicken (cut into bite-sized pieces) into my new pan I got for my birthday 🙂

Isn’t it pretty?  The man got it for me and said I better open it early because I won’t be able to use it on vacation.  Smart man!

I covered up the chicken and let it cook through and then started looking at my kale.  At this point, I still didn’t know what I was going to end up doing, I just thought it would be some random taco-inspired chicken thing 🙂

I started making greens like normal, adding the kale into the pot with the onions and garlic.

When the kale had reduced, and the chicken was almost ready, I saw my tomato soup and thought that I should add it somewhere.

Honestly, I didn’t think it would fit very well in the chicken pan, so I added it into the kale/onions/garlic/pepper mixture.

I threw a little bit of our leftover red wine in there, too, to bring out some extra flavor.

(I told you, I’m trying to clean out the cupboards 🙂 )

Once the chicken was ready, I spooned it into the pan with the kale and let it sit for a while, so it was kind of like a stew.

After trying it, I decided to add a little salsa to the mixture, so I added about a cup of it to the pan and let it warm through.

I thought it was delicious, and the kale added a nice texture to the mixture.

The man must have liked it too, he told me that “next time” I make this, I should try it without the tomato soup 🙂

I don’t know if the kids liked it a lot, but the boy said it was really good.  I love it how they try to put a good face on the food, even when they don’t like it. 🙂  One day they’ll appreciate this food – at least that’s what I tell them!

1 Response to "Chicken something or other"

I think it looks great and I’m always amazed about how much kale cooks down.

Leave a Reply

