Defeat Garden

Chicken BLT Salad

Posted on: August 8, 2010

For those of you living in Nebraska today, you know that it’s hot outside! There was no way that I was going to a) use my oven or b) stand over a hot stove top for absolutely longer than necessary, even though it would be inside!  (The widget on my desktop even now says that the temperature is 100, and with the humidity, the heat index is right around 115!)  This is what we had for supper tonight:

The man & I went grocery shopping today and saw bacon, lettuce, and tomatoes all bunched together.  Hmmm…sounds like a BLT, right?  Well, in the past I would say, yes, absolutely!  But, for those of you who know us well, we don’t have bread in our house and there are no plans to buy any in my future.  So, I decided to make a salad inspired by BLT’s 🙂

First of all, I have to come clean – I don’t like tomatoes.  I like them to cook with, but when it comes to eating them plain, it just doesn’t happen.  So, I had to come up with something else to put in the salad, or I would have just had salad with bacon (which is good, too!)  I decided that chicken would be good – I had a chicken bacon and ranch salad this week for lunch once, so I combined the two ideas.

Of course, it can’t be just plain chicken, especially with the kids out of the house for the weekend, so I made a marinade.

I put some of each of the following into a glass dish with my chicken – olive oil (not pictured)

apple cider vinegar

Worcestershire sauce (I still can never pronounce this!)

pepper

garlic powder

seasoned salt

minced onion

parsley

paprika

I put my chicken in there for about an hour and half, flipped it over a few times to get it coated, and proceeded to clean my bathroom.

Yes, I know that was random 🙂  But it was needed, and that way I didn’t make supper way too early (which I have a tendency to do on the weekends).

When the bathroom was clean, I put some eggs in our toaster (the man has this great toaster that will hard-boil eggs for you in about 10 minutes), started cooking the bacon in the microwave, and started to cook the chicken.  I used our cast iron grill/skillet to try to get some grill marks (because it’s pretty that way!).

I also decided to make my own honey-mustard dressing, so I tried this.  (another disclaimer: I used to deplore mustard, but now I seem to have acquired a taste for it – so this was another first for me!)

I put about a tablespoon of dijon mustard, about the same amount of local honey (from one of the farmer’s markets in town), some pepper, and some olive oil into a small container and mixed it all together.  It turned out pretty well.

After flipping the chicken, I tore up a head of romaine lettuce for the salad, sliced up two tomatoes, and shredded some cheese.

Here are all of the ingredients for our salad tonight:It all came together nicely (I even enjoyed the tomatoes!), and the dressing was a nice light addition to the salad.  The man’s salad looked prettier than mine, so that’s the salad you see at the top of the page.  There was even plenty leftover for another day:

4 Responses to "Chicken BLT Salad"

that sounds yummy! And kuddos to you with no bread in the house-how do you do it with two kids!!!

It was hard for the first couple of months! They’re really just used to it now, though 🙂 Actually, we will buy them bread in the summer to make lunches, and every once in a while I’ll surprise them with homemade bread (so I can control the ingredients!), but mostly just nothing!

I’m not a big bacon eater but that makes me a loner. The rest of my family would gladly come to your house for salad. With a heat index like that, you can dry some of your veggies outdoors.

I’m definitely not enjoying this heat index! It’s been extended until the end of the day on Friday (so far), and it’s so hard to want to make supper in this weather!

I’ll have to try drying them outdoors. I guess I’m always a little nervous because of the high humidity.

Leave a Reply

