Defeat Garden

Ratatouille

Posted on: August 18, 2010

We made this once before, about a year and a half ago right after moving into our house.  The first time, I don’t think any of us liked it, but maybe my taste buds have changed a little since then.  The first time we made it, we rented the movie Ratatouille, and had ratatouille for supper 🙂  Despite the cuteness of the idea, it didn’t go over well.  I still don’t think the kids liked it, but it was much better.

I got the recipe from our CSA newsletter – it looks like it came from the Moosewood Cookbook.

3 T olive oil

2 c chopped onion (I used 2 fresh onions, from the farm)

1 medium eggplant (I used both of the smaller ones we got from the CSA)

1 1/2 t basil (fresh from the farm!)

1/2 t rosemary (dried from the farm)

1 medium zucchini, cubed (again, from the farm)

pepper

parsley (dried from the farm)

4 cloves garlic (fresh from the farm!)

1 bay leaf

1 1/2 t salt

1 t marjoram or oregano (dried from the farm)

1/2 t thyme (dried from the farm)

2 medium bell peppers in strips (but I just chopped them – also from the farm!)

1 can tomatoes (or, as in the newsletter: “that’s crazy – use fresh” – I love my CSA!)

Heat the oil in a skillet, add garlic, onion, bay leaf and saute. Add eggplant, remaining seasonings, stir, cook for about 15-20 minutes or until eggplant is soft. Add remaining ingredients, cover and simmer until done.

I have to say, using all fresh ingredients (there was very little that I did not have directly from our CSA farm) made a HUGE difference in this recipe.  I can’t say enough about the aroma and even the taste of the fresh garlic – it was amazing!

Leave a Reply

