Defeat Garden

Tomato Soup

Posted on: September 27, 2010

My husband had two of his wisdom teeth pulled on Friday.  He was tired of smooth food that was sweet (ice cream, yogurt, smoothies, bananas) since he’s not used to that much sweetness, and he asked for some soup.  So, I looked up some recipes for soups and found a few.  I made homemade tomato soup for the man and thought, grilled cheese sandwiches would be perfect with that (and the kids were so happy)!

I found the recipe for this (and two other soups I’ll be making this week) on this blog:  http://souprecipe.us/

It was really simple, and also tasted great!

I forgot to take pictures through the process, so I apologize in advance 🙂  I got distracted because I made two things at once and it was early in the afternoon.  A little off schedule, I guess!

You’ll need:

24 tomatoes (or however many you have), quartered

a few cloves of garlic (I used a lot, because I love garlic!), minced

some olive oil, salt and pepper to season

some broth (although I didn’t use any – it seemed fine without)

and (optionally) some cream to make it more smooth – you could also use milk or half and half, but I love cream!

Take the quartered tomatoes and garlic, toss them in an oven-safe casserole (or other roasting dish) with the olive oil, salt and pepper.  Bake for 1/2 an hour to an hour at a medium or low temperature (I used 350 and cooked them for an hour, stirring once in between).  When they’re finished, put the whole thing into a food processor and let it go until it’s smooth.  At this point, you can add some broth if you like, or add some cream.

Serve with a grilled cheese sandwich (or eat on its own) and enjoy!

1 Response to "Tomato Soup"

[…] sauce with Italian seasonings (or leftover homemade tomato soup) or canned spaghetti […]

Leave a Reply

