Defeat Garden

Pumpkin Soup

Posted on: October 2, 2010

Yet another soup recipe – I was a little nervous about this one, but it turned out amazingly well!

This is another recipe from a blog I found while surfing for soup recipes – http://souprecipe.us/2007/10/pumpkin-soup.html.  I’ve loved all of the soups I’ve made from this blog so far!  This one was also really easy.

I used:

2 small pumpkins (pie kind, not carving kind!)

2 onions

4-5 cloves of garlic

a little coriander

chicken broth

and to garnish I whipped some heavy cream

The first thing I did was to get the pumpkin ready.  I actually did this on Sunday when I knew I’d have more time (I knew I couldn’t do it all in the middle of the week!)

I cut the pumpkins in half, scooped out the seeds, and steamed them in the microwave for a while.  I’d never done this before, so it took a lot longer than I thought it would!  I’ve made squash like that before, but the pumpkin was much tougher and it took a few times in (at about 10 minutes each) before I could get the meat out.

Once it was soft enough, I cut the meat out of the shell and tossed it into a bowl to be used later.

Then during the week, I just chopped the onion and garlic, and warmed it up with some olive oil for a few minutes.  I did it all in my biggest pan.  Then I added the chunks of pumpkin and let it cook for a few minutes.  Once it was warmed up a bit, all you have to do is add the broth and seasonings (the blog I found it at also says you can use cumin) and let it simmer for a while – about 1/2 an hour or so.

While it was simmering, the girl and I went for a run!

Once we were finished, I came back and scooped the mixture into the food processor.  Just chopped until it was all combined.  I also whipped some cream and drizzled it on the top.

I was really impressed with how smooth and creamy this soup was!  I’ll definitely have to make this one again 🙂

1 Response to "Pumpkin Soup"

[…] The most difficult part about this recipe is cutting the squash(es).  We read on CNN that the best way to do it is to cut off the top and the bottom of the squash, and then slice vertically through the whole thing.  This makes it easier to de-seed the squash, as well.  I loved it with the butternut squash, but I still had problems with the pumpkin   Although this pumpkin was easier than the last one I tried (in my pumpkin soup). […]

Leave a Reply

