Defeat Garden

Spaghetti (Squash) and Meat Sauce

Posted on: October 14, 2010

This is one of my favorite foods when I’m craving spaghetti.  We used to have spaghetti pretty often, and even the kids have decided that they enjoy this dish!

I had never made a spaghetti squash until about a year ago when I bought one at the grocery store.  I knew nothing about cooking squash, so I had to look up what to do with it 🙂  I’ve found that the easiest and fastest way for me to do it is to put a few holes in it with a knife and cook it in the microwave for about 10 minutes.  Then I cut it in half and let it cool for a while (you can see the steam coming out of this!).

Most of the time when I make this, I’ve got everything else going at the same time!  For this dish I use:

1 spaghetti squash (you can just use half of one or a small one, too)

ground beef/turkey

an onion

some garlic

sweet peppers (I happened to have orange that night!)

tomato sauce with Italian seasonings (or leftover homemade tomato soup) or canned spaghetti sauce

Parmesan cheese

Chop up your veggies and brown them in the meat, add your sauce and simmer while you’re getting the squash ready.

I didn’t take a picture of the squash while I was scooping it out, but if you’ve never cooked with a spaghetti squash before, it’s really run to do it!  After it’s cooled to the point that you can touch it, spoon out and throw away the seeds.  Then you take a fork to it and scrape it off.  It comes off looking just like strands of cooked spaghetti 🙂

Mix it all together like a pasta dish and enjoy!

Sometimes I make meatballs with this instead, but I was out of zucchini (I always use zucchini and Parmesan as a binder in my meatballs instead of bread crumbs), so we just had sauce instead.

Leave a Reply

