Defeat Garden

Squash Bake

Posted on: October 31, 2010

When we got our fall box from the farm, there were lots of butternut squash in it!  I had never cooked with  one in the past, so I really didn’t know what to do with them!  I read somewhere that many of the pumpkin pies that are sold commercially are made with butternut squash instead of pumpkin, because they are actually sweeter than pumpkin.  After having tasted both of them this morning, I agree!  I’ve made this a few times, now, but am finally getting around to putting it up here!

This would be a great beginning to many recipes that call for canned pumpkin (in my opinion, anyways!), just add a little sweetener and you’d be good!

Here is what I used –

2 butternut squash, halved, seeds scooped out (and I even baked those today!), peeled and chunked

1 pumpkin (prepared the same way as the squash)

1 stick of butter – trust me, use the whole stick!

spices – cinnamon, cloves, ground ginger, and nutmeg

I’ve also made this with just butternut squash, and the first time I made it, I threw in a few peeled apples, as well.  Both versions are good!

The most difficult part about this recipe is cutting the squash(es).  We read on CNN that the best way to do it is to cut off the top and the bottom of the squash, and then slice vertically through the whole thing.  This makes it easier to de-seed the squash, as well.  I loved it with the butternut squash, but I still had problems with the pumpkin 🙂  Although this pumpkin was easier than the last one I tried (in my pumpkin soup).

You can see in this picture that I just threw the chunks of squash into a large casserole dish.

After that’s all ready, you can start to pre-heat the oven.  I cooked this at 400 for about 40 minutes.

Then, I get the spices mixed together.  For this amount of squash, I used about:

1/4 cup of cinnamon

2 teaspoons of ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg and

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

I kind of wish I had used more seasonings, I like the stronger flavor that it gives the squash.  You can adjust these however you want, or if you don’t have all of these, just use pumpkin pie seasoning.

Next, mix all the spices up (with a fork or something) and then mix them into the squash.  Your hands will get messy, so be ready for that!

After you rinse off, slice up the butter and place it over the squash in the casserole.

Stick the whole thing in the oven for about 40 minutes.  I stirred mine after 20 minutes.

Once it’s finished cooking, get your food processor ready for the last part.

Since I made such a large batch, I had to do this in two batches in the food processor.  But, if you just use one butternut squash, it should fit into one batch in the food processor.

Put the squash/butter (try to include some of the melted butter if there is any left in your dish) into the  food processor and chop away!

I like this dish warm right out of the oven.  You don’t really need to add anything because the squash has just enough sweetness to it to make it feel like a dessert.

It’s also really good stirred into some oatmeal, I’ve enjoyed it like that a few times this week already!

My other favorite way to eat this is chilled as an apple dip.  I like to eat my apples with yogurt most days, but this is a nice change.

I could also see this as the beginning to a pumpkin cheesecake or mixed with some ice cream for a nice treat, too!

Leave a Reply

