Defeat Garden

Eggplant Chips

Posted on: November 1, 2010

I admit it, I don’t like eggplant.  I’ve tried it a few times, tried it in different recipes, and still, I just really don’t like it.  There is, however, one way that I do enjoy it (a least a little 🙂

The first time we had this was about a year ago (?) I think, when we tried eggplant parmesan.  There was a recipe to coat the eggplant in the parmesan first before you baked it into the recipe.

I did that and kind of enjoyed it, thinking maybe eggplant parmesan wouldn’t be so bad!  Then I made the rest of the recipe and decided not to make it again…

However, this part stuck!  We’ve even made it with zucchini and summer squash.  This even uses the basic premise for homemade chicken strips.

First, make your assembly line:

one bowl of egg wash

one bowl of parmesan (mix in some Italian seasonings for an extra kick!)

sliced eggplant

a baking sheet (always a good idea to line it first, but it looks like we didn’t do that this time)

Dip the eggplant into the eggs, then into the parmesan cheese, then lay it out on the baking sheet.

Once this is finished, they’re ready to put into the oven.  Bake them at 350 for about half an hour.  (I could be wrong on the time, I tend to just wing it and cook it until it looks done – also, the man made these ones, so I didn’t keep very good track of what was going on!)

This is how they’ll look when you put them in:

While they were baking, the man made a dipping sauce for them (basically homemade spaghetti sauce) with a can of tomato sauce and Italian seasonings.

He also put a piece of fresh parsley on the sauce to “make it look pretty” for me. 🙂

Even though I’m not a big fan of eggplant, these chips have saved the vegetable for me.  We had these for dessert that night, and the kids were so excited to eat them!

And really, how can you go wrong with a recipe that makes your kids want to eat eggplant?

I admit it, I don’t like eggplant.  I’ve tried it a few times, tried it in different recipes, and still, I just really don’t like it.  There is, however, one way that I do enjoy it (a least a little :):I a
1 Response to "Eggplant Chips"

Blah I can’t stand eggplant but glad you found a way to enjoy it lol. I remember eating eggplant when I was pregnant with my daughter. It was about 7 or 8 hours before I went into labour. Hubby made it (and I have no idea how). I couldn’t stand it lol.

Thanks for coming by my blog and commenting! I appreciate it 🙂 I replied to you over there but it’s basically the same as I’m typing right now lol.

Leave a Reply

