Defeat Garden

Jambalaya

Posted on: November 2, 2010

This recipe is from Mark’s Daily Apple, which is a great website.  There are tons of recipes, posts, and general information about primal living.  The man led me to the site, and I’ve always thought about making some of his recipes so I finally did!

Here’s my finished version (his is much prettier, so go check it out above!):

I used:

chicken (I had lots of chicken sitting out that I thought I was going to make the day before, but didn’t)

andouille sausage

shrimp (it’s in the colander)

onions

green peppers

garlic

diced tomatoes

parsley

thyme

chili powder

chicken broth

one head of cauliflower

First, cook the sausage and chicken until they’re done, then add chopped onions, peppers and garlic. Then add the seasonings, tomatoes and broth.

Let it cook for about 20 minutes (or if you’re impatient like me, only until the next step is done!).  Take the head of cauliflower and put it through the food processor with the shred blade.  Then add it to the soup and let it cook for a few minutes.

Finally, add the shrimp.  My kids love to watch it turn pink as it cooks!  Once it’s cooked through, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

