Defeat Garden

Sweet Potato Hash

Posted on: November 2, 2010

The man requested a sweet potato hash when we came home with our 14 pounds of sweet potatoes.  It seemed like a reasonable request to me, so I started to look for a recipe.

There are lots of recipes out there for sweet potato hash.  After perusing what seemed to me like thousands of recipes looking for just one that sounded perfect, I figured I kind of knew what the basics were and I’d just make it up from there.  So forgive me if there is another recipe out there with a very similar ring to it!

Most of the recipes out there call for various vegetables, cooked together in a pan until they start to brown.  So, that’s pretty much what I did!

I used some sweet potatoes

a leek

a random squash that I had in the pantry 🙂

some garlic

some shallots

(I didn’t use the celeriac that’s in the picture, I decided to save it for another day)

and some peppers

I chopped them all up and cooked them in some butter and olive oil in a pan until they were soft and starting to carmelize a little.

While that was going, I started to brown some spicy sausage (for the eggs that really made this dish!).  Once the sausage was browned, I tossed in some eggs and scrambled it all together.

Then we dished up some eggs and sausage with the sweet potato hash.

I have to say, this was one of my favorite dishes with sweet potatoes that we’ve made so far!  If you do make a hash, I would really recommend the eggs and sausage with it, they really seemed to add a lot to the flavor of the dish.

Leave a Reply

