Defeat Garden

Chili!

Posted on: November 7, 2010

I know, I know, everybody knows how to make chili, right?  Well, I’m trying to post something every day (haven’t done so well at that so far!) this month, so I’m running out of new recipes!  This is the way I pretty much always make chili 🙂

So, sometimes it’s a little different, and sometimes I use more or less of these ingredients, but like I said, this is pretty much my chili recipe 🙂

1 pound (or 1/2 or 2) of ground meat (I like to use turkey or ground beef, but I’ve also used random ground meat like ostrich and buffalo before, too!)

1 (or 2) onions

1 (or 2) peppers (any color works for me!)

garlic (either a couple of cloves, minced, or garlic salt/garlic powder)

1 can diced tomatoes – or 2 – but I was out on Friday, so I didn’t get to add this 😦

1 can tomato sauce (or if I use 2 pounds of meat, 2)

1 can tomato soup (or if I use 2 pounds of meat, 2)

seasonings:  chili powder, cumin, oregano, coriander, cayenne, cilantro

also, if I think of it ahead of time, I like to soak and cook my own beans for the chili – this is another area where it can vary greatly!  I’ve used regular chili (kidney) beans before, we’ve used mixtures, but my favorite beans are black beans.  We just buy them in the bulk bin where you can get a good scoop for a couple of cents, I soak them for a day (or two) ahead of time, and then boil them (for a long time!  I’ve learned that it’s best to boil them long after you think they’re finished if you want them nice and soft!) in seasonings or without, then add them to the chili.  I normally do beans when I put the chili in a crock pot.

That’s the other thing I love about chili – I can also make it in the crock pot!  If I do that, the only thing I have to cook is the ground meat, and then I just throw it all in and let it go.

The girl helped me cook the chili this week, so here’s a picture of her chopping the green pepper (she doesn’t like chopping onions, they make her cry!)

She loves cooking with me.  I admit, sometimes it’s hard for me to give up my kitchen to someone else (even if I’m right there), so it’s good for me to let her help, too.

Since we ate this the same night we cooked it, we soften the onions and peppers in some olive oil (and the girl learned what “translucent” means) while the meat was cooking on the other side of the stove.

The girl really enjoys stirring food – we had to tell her a few times that it’s okay to let the food sit for a while.  She finally decided that she would only stir the veggies when she could hear them in the pot.

Here she is, stirring away :o)

Once the onions/peppers/garlic were softened up, we added the tomato sauce and tomato soup and seasoned it with the seasonings.

We also seasoned the ground beef, and let that cook through.

Once the beef was cooked, we scooped it into the pot with the veggies/sauce and let it sit together for a while.

In the meantime, we set up the “assembly line” for the add-ins.  We used:  shredded cheese, sour cream, crushed red pepper flakes, tobasco sauce, and salsa.

I think this is the kids’ favorite part, because they get to make their chili as spicy as they want, or make sure it’s not spicy at all 🙂

Leave a Reply

