Defeat Garden

Pork Chops and Brussels Sprouts (again)

Posted on: November 14, 2010

This is a menu that we have pretty often.  (see here)

However, I decided to try something a little different with the Brussels sprouts the other night!  I really liked it because it seemed to make the Brussels sprouts a little less bitter than they can be otherwise.

As I may have mentioned before, the man really likes Brussels sprouts.  REALLY likes them!  I like them, too, but not quite as much as he does!  I normally make them the same way (again, see here for the normal preparation) because that’s the way I like them best, but I was feeling a little adventurous the other day.

I used:

Brussels sprouts (I think about a pound and a half)

an onion

garlic (I just forgot to put it in the picture)

chicken broth

mustard

rosemary

paprika

salt & pepper

and two pork chops, cut in half (I find it’s an easy way to make them stretch, and that way I don’t overeat).

First, I chopped the onion and garlic and started them going in the pan with some olive oil. I started on the Brussels sprouts before the pork because I knew they would take longer.  Just chop off the bottom of the sprout, take off any yellow or discolored leaves, and then I sliced them and added them all to the pan.  I coated them in olive oil and let them sit for a few minutes, then I added more.  I tossed in about a teaspoon of rosemary and another teaspoon of paprika, and added the chicken broth and about 2 tablespoons of mustard.  I mixed it all in and let it cook until the broth had reduced.  I probably should have let it cook longer so it was thicker, but my pork chops were done and I didn’t want them to dry out.

While the Brussels sprouts were going, I warmed up some more olive oil in a pan, seasoned the pan with some rosemary, paprika, and salt and pepper.  Then I added the pork and seasoned the top of the pork.

Once it gets brown on one side, flip it over to the other.  Also, since these were not as thick as normal pork chops, they’ll cook through a little faster.

Once the pork was ready, I noticed the Brussels sprouts weren’t quite cooked through, so I took some of the flavored broth and spooned it over the pork chops.  I also covered the Brussels sprouts to try to get them to cook through a little faster.

When everything was cooked, I piled it on a plate and enjoyed!  I called it “Brussels sprouts gravy,” and I liked it, but the man just thought it was all right 🙂

Leave a Reply

