Defeat Garden

Chicken Parmesan

Posted on: November 29, 2010

I made up a chicken parmesan recipe tonight.  It was delicious 🙂

I used:

4 chicken breasts

butter and olive oil

1 onion, sliced but not diced

4 cloves garlic, diced

about 2 cups v-8 (because I went looking for tomato sauce and saw the v-8 from when the man’s wisdom teeth were pulled!)

Italian seasonings (a pre-mixed, or you could use oregano, basil, etc)

4 small handfuls of mozzarella cheese

and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese for each serving

I had to defrost my chicken when I got home, so I decided to carmelize the onion while it was defrosting in the microwave.  I didn’t do a very good job with it because I had the temperature up too high, but they were still good!  Once they were carmelized, I added in the diced garlic cloves, then added the chicken breasts and browned them with seasonings.

You can see that most of the onions were a little more brown than carmelized 🙂

Once the chicken was browned on both sides, I poured in the V-8 (after I tasted it – I had also gotten out some tomato sauce just in case because I don’t think I had ever drank V-8 before).

Then I let it warm up and tried to let it reduce a lot.  The V-8 was not as thick as tomato sauce, so that took a little longer than I thought it would.  Once it was reduced, I put a small handful of mozzarella cheese on top of each chicken breast and let that melt.

I also had some kale chips in the oven (toss some kale with olive oil, salt, and pepper and bake them at about 400 for 20 minutes or so).

Both things were done at about the same time, so that worked pretty well tonight.

I was also impressed that we sat down to eat at 6:30 tonight.  I thought it would take longer than 45 minutes to get everything put together. (I don’t usually get home until 5:45 or so.)

When I put it on the plates, I sprinkled some Parmesan on top of everything and then we ate.  The kids liked it, too!  I’m always happy when they really like the food, it makes the evening go so much faster 🙂

2 Responses to "Chicken Parmesan"

It looks worth waiting for. I don’t believe I have ever eaten kale before though.

It was pretty good – and really pretty easy, too!

You should try kale, it’s one of my favorite greens, and it keeps its shape really well. The kids like it because it’s curly 🙂

Leave a Reply

