Defeat Garden

Bacon Wrapped Chicken and Kale

Posted on: December 19, 2010

It’s been a long time since I put up a recipe.  I’ve mostly been making the same old dishes, so it didn’t seem worth the time to re-post them!  This is one that I’ve thought about making before, but I finally did last week.

I used:

1/2 a package of bacon, cut in half lengthwise (some of it diced for the kale)

some chicken breasts, cut into strips

one onion, diced

a few cloves of garlic, diced

one bunch kale

one apple, peeled and chopped

I started with the kale.  The first thing I did was to cook the diced bacon in a pan.  Once it was cooked, I added the onion and garlic.  Once the onion was cooked through, I added the kale and chopped apples and let them sit until the kale was reduced.

While that was going, I wrapped my chicken in a half piece of bacon each and then got them cooking.  I used the George Foreman grill that we have.  It worked well and I didn’t have too much cleaning up to do!

I just put a few on and let them cook about 6-7 minutes, then switched.  This picture is in between a batch – you can see the finished ones on the right and the uncooked ones on the left.

The man had to try them to make sure they were all right – I think they passed inspection. :o)

Leave a Reply

