Defeat Garden

Cajun Seasoning

Posted on: February 5, 2011

I wanted to make a turkey the other weekend, but I wanted to season it differently than I have in the past.  I’ve done a turkey plain, and I’ve done a turkey seasoned with thyme and garlic, but this time I wanted to make a Cajun seasoned turkey.  But, I didn’t want to have to buy a whole new seasoning bottle and spend 7-8 dollars for a pre-mixed seasoning.  So I did some searching online and found this recipe on www.cdkitchen.com.  I had to buy some white pepper, but I got one of the small bottles that are only about 88 cents or so.  All in all I thought I did a good job on this one!

1 T Paprika

2 1/2 T salt

1 T onion powder

1 T garlic powder

1 T cayenne pepper

3/4 T white pepper

3/4 T pepper

1/2 T thyme

1/2 T oregano

1/2 T sage

I did pretty well putting it all together until I got to the thyme.  (I find that thyme’s always escaping me – ha!)  I read my own handwriting wrong and put in 1 1 /2 T instead of just 1/2 T.  Oops!  So then I had to triple the recipe.  It’s a good thing I was using a rather large bowl to mix them in 🙂

I used this on the turkey and wasn’t disappointed.  I’ve been using it on lots of things since I made it (since I have a triple recipe of it!!!)  It’s really good on vegetables for a different flavor, I roasted some almonds with some, and I even made Cajun seasoned chicken.  That one was definitely a hit!

I’ll have to try it out on people who aren’t in my family some day – it might make a good gift if the ingredients were layered into a small spice jar separately.

1 Response to "Cajun Seasoning"

[…] Recipe Index Cajun Seasoning […]

Leave a Reply

