Defeat Garden

Cauliflower and Bacon Soup

Posted on: March 31, 2011

I read several blogs.  I love to read blogs about people’s lives, especially people who are passionate about the way they live or the way they do things.  I love to read blogs where people cook and post pictures and recipes.  My favorites are the ones where the people eat similar to the way I do.  I look at their food and drool.  (OK, maybe not always, but often enough!) And then I think, maybe I could do something like that!  Quite a few times I try and fail, but sometimes it works well.

I did not know how to cook 5 years ago when I met my husband.  OK, maybe I could cook a few things. But for the most part if you threw me in a kitchen with some random ingredients, I would have had no idea what to do.  I still sometimes feel like that girl when I read other blogs and watch other people in their kitchens – especially my mother-in-law 🙂

This recipe, though, has been talking to me for a while.  I keep looking at this recipe and thinking, “I really could do that one…really!”  And I’d come back to it again…and again.

That said, here’s the original post where I took my inspiration from:  Pretty in Primal.  She does some really cool stuff, check out the blog if you have time.

If I do say so myself, it looks pretty good 🙂

Like I said, I really took inspiration from Pretty in Primal.  Her soup looks good enough to eat just as it is, but she also made a point to say in her post to play around with it and feel free to make it your own.  So I did 🙂

I used:

one head of cauliflower, chopped into fairly small pieces

one bunch of broccoli, chopped into fairly small pieces

one onion, chopped

a few cloves of garlic, peeled

half a package of bacon

salt and pepper

olive oil

one can chicken broth

about 1 cup of heavy cream

and some shredded cheddar cheese

First, I cooked the bacon in the pan while I was chopping the cauliflower and broccoli and peeling the garlic.  I also preheated the oven to 400. Once the veggies were chopped, I put them in a pan with some olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted them in the oven.  (Ever since I discovered Roasted Cauliflower I keep looking for excuses to roast more!) I let them cook for 20 minutes, stirred them, then cooked them for 20 more minutes.

Once the cauliflower, broccoli and garlic was in the oven, I chopped up the onion.  When the bacon was nice and crispy, I took it out to let it cool and put the onion into the pan with the bacon grease.

I really don’t think there is anything in the world that smells as good as onions cooking in bacon grease….I’m drooling again 🙂

Once the onions were softened, I added the chicken broth and the cream to let it cook together.

The timing worked out pretty well – I got the onions into the pan right around the 20 minute mark when I stirred the veggies, and when the 2nd 20 minute mark was up was about the time I was putting the cream in the pan.  Then I chopped up the bacon (that had finally cooled down!) to throw back in when I was ready.

I took about half of the cauliflower and all of the garlic cloves that I could see out of the roasting pan and added them to the onion/liquid pan.

Then I got to use my brand new (for Christmas) immersion blender that my lovely sister gave me!

It’s pretty – trust me 🙂  (I got new toys for the kitchen and the man, lucky man, got steak!!!  He got steak from three different people for Christmas – I think they’re finally figuring him out!)

It was kind of messy – next time I make it I’ll make it in my soup pot instead of a big pan.  But, it all got mixed together just fine.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can put it into a regular blender or a food processor and pulse it until it’s all mixed together and smooth.

Then for the fun part (I love this next picture – it reminds me of the fun).

I scraped the rest of the roasted vegetables (also, I think I’m going to make plain roasted broccoli sometime – it was just as amazing as roasted cauliflower!) into the pan, tossed the bacon on top, and mixed it all together.

Doesn’t that look delicious?

Mix it all up, spoon it into a bowl, toss some cheddar cheese on top, and you’re ready for supper!

My family said I could make this again – they even asked if I could make it again this week!

2 Responses to "Cauliflower and Bacon Soup"

This looks really really good!

Thanks Liesal! It turned out better than I thought it would 🙂

Leave a Reply

