Defeat Garden

Souffle

Posted on: June 12, 2011

I told you I was going to make a souffle again ๐Ÿ™‚ย  But of course, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly…

I used:

half a package of bacon, some onion and garlic scrapes

5 T butter

4 T flour

5 eggs, separated

nutmeg, salt and pepper

2 cups (or possibly more!) shredded cheddar cheese (but any kind would work well)

First, I cooked the bacon. When it was cooked, I took it out to drain and cooked the onion and garlic in the bacon grease.ย  Then I took them out of the pan and put them aside.

The boy buttered my souffle pan for me (I got it a few weeks ago and I’ve been waiting to use it!).

The girl wanted to help as well, so after I separated the eggs, I had her whisk the egg whites.ย  She is a whisking fiend!ย  She did an awesome job – you can’t even see her hand in this picture!ย  You can see the boy in the background helping by shredding the cheese, too.

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.

I melted 4 T of butter in the pan, then added the flour, one Tablespoon at a time.ย  It’s kind of fun to watch this part, the flour makes theย  butter bubble up ๐Ÿ™‚

After the flour and butter were combined, I added one cup of milk to the mixture and whisked it all together (with our OTHER whisk!) until it was thick.

Then take the mixture off of the heat and add ingredients in the following order:

egg yolks

a pinch of nutmeg, salt and pepper

cheese

any other add-ins you have (here is where I added my bacon and veggies)

Then, gently fold in the egg whites (which should come to a stiff peak before you fold them in…this part I didn’t do so well at – the girl had them at a stiff peak, but I was a little to vigorous in my folding ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

But look at how beautiful her egg whites look!

Place the mixture into a souffle pan (if you don’t have one – like the first time we made souffle – you can use any other dish as well, preferably a short dish – last time I used a smallish round glass casserole and it worked out just fine!)

This is what mine looked like today.

Then place the dish into the oven and let it cook for about 50 minutes.

All of the advice I read on making a souffle said that the most important thing in making the souffle rise is that you CANNOT open the oven for the first 20 minutes.ย  Just don’t do it, I guess.ย  I didn’t think that I would have a problem with that since I normally don’t open the oven, but have you ever noticed that when somebody tells you not to do something, all of a sudden that’s the only thing you want to do?ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, after NOT opening the oven for 50 minutes, this is how ours turned out today:

It’s pretty, if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ™‚

I do think that it puffed up more the first time we made souffle, but I think I’ve figured out why, as well:

I didn’t have my oven pre-heated before everything was mixed together, so it had to sit for a few minutes.ย  I think the egg whites lost some of the air while the dish was just waiting.ย  What can I say, I wasn’t expecting help this morning ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, be very gentle when you’re mixing the yolk/custardy part in with the whisked egg whites.ย  I wasn’t paying close enough attention to what I was doing today, until the girl asked me what the noise was when I was folding the mixtures together and then I realized – whoops! I wasn’t being gentle enough, so more of the air escaped than should have.ย  My fault!

Even though it didn’t puff up a lot this time, it still raised up, and the kids got a kick out of seeing how big it got.

I love this picture because you can see how delicious it is – there’s the “crust” on the sides/top/bottom that provides a little crunch, and you can also see how the middle is cooked through, yet slightly gooey – I love quiche this way, too ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Responses to "Souffle"

It looks great but I love the picture of your daughter whisking those whites.

Thanks Tammy – I love that picture as well. I’m glad she’s growing up to enjoy food ๐Ÿ™‚

Mmm, that looks so yummy!!!

I have a question for you. When you press your own garlic, how do you keep the entire house from smelling like garlic? I happen to enjoy the smell, but not everybody in the family does…

Honestly, I don’t know how. I love the smell, too ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d be happy if my house always smelled like freshly pressed (ha! – just like on wordpress!) garlic. I suppose you could press a bunch of them and store them. Or, my sister just buys the pre-diced garlic. That would probably work, too ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

