Defeat Garden

Cucumber Salad

Posted on: July 12, 2011

I’m a big fan of cucumbers.  I don’t remember liking them very much when I was younger, but I definitely like them now!  Since I’ve grown up, I’ve enjoyed using them to make salads or to put on salads.  I’ve even made my own version of my Aunt’s famous (at least in our family!) cukes and onions.  I found this recipe last year and made it for myself (because the man doesn’t really like cucumbers, and my kids don’t really like jalapenos), and this year I finally got someone else to try it (thanks Dad!).  Don’t tell my Aunt, but Dad said it might even be better than her cukes and onions.

This is very simple if you have a food processor (I think that’s part of why I like it so much!)  If you don’t, it wouldn’t be very difficult, but I’m not a big fan of cutting jalapenos – I always forget gloves and end up with painful hands!

Use:

2 cucumbers, quartered

1/2 onion (red would be good, but I used vidalia)

1 jalapeno (core it and scrape out the seeds if you don’t want it to be very hot)

a few cloves of garlic

about 1/2 cup of rice vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

If you have a food processor:

Put the onion, garlic and jalapeno in the bowl and chop until it’s small.

Put the slicing blade on and feed the cucumbers through.

Mix it all together with the rice vinegar (which adds a nice sweet taste to this!) salt and pepper and let it sit for a few minutes or overnight to let the flavors blend.

If you don’t have a food processor:

Dice/mince the onion/jalapeno/garlic.

Slice the cucumbers as thin as you can.

Mix it all together.

That’s not really a great picture, but the taste is great.  There’s a little heat from the jalapeno and a little sweet from the rice vinegar.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to "Cucumber Salad"

So much green! Love that first picture.

I’ve never cut jalapenos before. I didn’t realize they would burn as you are cutting them!

That is a lot of green – I haven’t looked at these for a long time – I’ve really been slacking on my blogging…

Never cut jalapenos without gloves – it’s horrible! For hours!!!

Leave a Reply

