Defeat Garden

Pig squared with apples and sauerkraut

Posted on: September 21, 2011

We’ve found a great restaurant nearby called The Black Crow (you can find their Facebook page here), and the man and I went there a few weeks ago on a date.  I had an amazing bacon-wrapped pork loin with chunky apples, sauerkraut, and some delicious whipped mashed sweet potatoes.  I’ve been thinking about trying to recreate it, but didn’t want to try because I was afraid I would ruin the memory!  I finally gave in this week and tried to recreate the main course:

It may not be beautiful, but it tasted pretty good, and it was much simpler than I thought it would be.

I used:

3 pork chops, cut in half so that bacon could be wrapped around them

6 pieces of bacon (and 6 toothpicks to hold them to the pork)

2 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced as thinly as I could get them

1 can chicken broth

a splash of balsamic vinegar

some sauerkraut

*****

First, melt some butter in a pan and start sauteing the apples.  I had mine on low heat because I was still working on defrosting my pork chops (I wasn’t quite prepared tonight).

Next, fry up some bacon in a pan to get some of the bacon grease down.  Then you can enjoy a lovely snack while you’re eating, too!  The man very much enjoyed his pre-dinner bacon today.

Next, wrap the pork chop in the bacon.  I used a toothpick to secure them, but they almost would have stayed without one.

When I cooked these, I browned one side, then flipped them to brown the other.  Then I noticed that the bacon wasn’t really crisping up.

I wasn’t really sure what to do, so I improvised and flipped them all onto their sides to crisp it up.  And of course while I was doing that, I realized that these pork chops were thicker than I normally cook with (I normally cut them in half through the middle so that they’re the same size, just thinner, but tonight I cut them in half so they were the same thickness, but smaller), so I had to figure out what to do to make sure the meat was cooked through!

Then came my improv – I put some chicken broth in the pan with them and let the burner go so it would reduce down.

While that was going, I had to figure out what to do with the sauerkraut, because that really made the dish at the restaurant.  I didn’t want to cook it with the apples (although I really don’t know why not!), so I threw them in the pan with the pork and chicken broth, and also splashed in some balsamic vinegar.

Then I let it all cook until the broth had reduced some and the pork chops were cooked through.

Amazingly enough, the kids even liked it!  (After they figured out how to take the toothpick out…)  Of course, you could say my kids are a little strange in their tastes 🙂  After all, they do have parents who make them eat all sorts of strange foods!

2 Responses to "Pig squared with apples and sauerkraut"

That looks sooo good! And doesn’t sound that hard to cook….hmmm… maybe even I could make it!! 🙂

You could totally make it! Maybe even Miss Maggie would enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

