Defeat Garden

Tuna Goop

Posted on: October 5, 2011

This may not be the most appetizing name for a dish, but it’s what my Mom called it for years when I was growing up, so that’s what I’m sticking with!

This is a very easy, relatively quick meal to make – and the ingredients are normally cheap at the grocery store, so it’s good to make on a budget, too!

You’ll need:

some olive oil or butter to fry the potatoes in

1 potato (or so) for each person

1-2 cans of tuna (or you could use other meat, but I grew up with tuna!)

1-2 eggs for each person

That’s it!  Slice up your potatoes and then throw them in a pan until they’re cooked through.

I seasoned them with salt and pepper, but if you feel adventurous, you could use different seasonings.  You could also add a few more vegetables, and I’m sure that would be good, as well.

My Mom had two “tuna goop” recipes that she made when I was growing up, she called them tuna goop #1 and tuna goop #2.  I could never remember which one was which, but I liked both of them.  I made them both pretty often when I was poor, too.

We got some beautiful potatoes from the farm that we get our CSA share from (here‘s their website), and I happened to have some tuna in my pantry.  So I figured I’d make this again.  It’s probably been over three years since we’ve had it in our house.

I do believe it was a success 🙂

 

 

And just in case anyone is wondering, I did not make Tuna Goop #2, but here’s the recipe (and yes, it sounds weird, but it’s oddly delicious!)

2 cans tuna

1 pkg chow mein noodles

1 can (or 2, I can never remember until I’m mixing them!) cream of mushroom soup

a splash of milk if you need it to help combine

*Mix all ingredients together, spread them out on a cookie sheet with a lip, and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes until crispy on the edges.

When we made this at my house, my kids called it “Worms” because the chow mein noodles kind of look like little worms…

 

11 Responses to "Tuna Goop"

I wonder if these recipes originally came from Grandma Lamp? My mother used to make these same dishes when I was kid!

That could be! I didn’t know that, that’s interesting 🙂

I probably would’ve loved it even more as a child if my mother would’ve called it that! Love tuna casseroles.

I think with kids the names of your dish are really important! My daycare provider (back in the day) once made “octopus on seaweed” out of hot dogs and macaroni and cheese. The kids loved it!

I absolutely love that the recipes are called #1 and #2. That is super awesome.

Now, if I could substitute ground bison for the tuna and cream of chicken (or cream of potato, maybe) for cream of mushroom, I could probably try this. Whenever Z tries to make hot fish or anything with mushrooms, I have to run from the house screaming.

I wonder if we have a CSA around here. I always figure they will give me a ton of rutabaga and then I won’t know what to do with it. That kind of thing. If you’ve seen me with plantains, you’ll know that I don’t know what to do with stuff. I love the idea of the CSA, though.

I know 🙂 My Mom was super-imaginative, right?
I’m sure you could substitute those – it’s a pretty simple recipe, and I love trying substitutions 🙂
I saw your plantain post – I would have probably done the same thing! I should probably sign up for the CSA again this year…I’m running a little behind!

If you think of posting it, I would love to see what kinds of things you get from your CSA this year!

[…] for the rest of you, check out Kami’s family recipe for Tuna Goop. How do like them goop? Share […]

[…] for the rest of you, check out Kami’s family recipe for Tuna Goop. How do you like them goop? Share […]

I think it’s weird that it does this!

I completely agree with you! I wish it wouldn’t…

Leave a Reply

