Defeat Garden

Sausage and Peppers in the Dutch Oven

Posted on: January 30, 2012

Now that I’ve made a few recipes in the new Dutch oven we got, I figured maybe I should actually post one.  And this one I really liked 🙂

Yum!

The girl took pictures tonight while I was layering everything in – you may even catch a glimpse of my hands….

I did kind of think ahead for this recipe – I normally don’t have anything thawed, but I left out a pound of spicy sausage (in the fridge!) on Saturday after I got groceries so that this would be fairly easy to prepare.

You can spray your Dutch oven if you want, but I don’t have any spray, so I just pour a little oil in and then rub it around the sides.  It’s as close as I’ve gotten for a really long time to greasing a cake pan.  Sad, isn’t it?

First I de-seeded 3 peppers and sliced them. That was really the most labor-intensive part of this recipe. 🙂

Then I put 1 1/2 cups of quinoa in the bottom of the pan, poured in a can of chicken broth, and stirred to combine.

(see, there’s the elusive hand)

I got lazy (again) with the sausage and sliced up the pound and laid it in like that, right on top of the quinoa.

I think that next time I make this, I won’t use the spicy sausage – it was a bit much!  And I think I might be a little less lazy and crumble the sausage up a little more.  But then again, it was pretty nice to be lazy!

After that, I sprinkled in the peppers that I had sliced up.

Aren’t they pretty?  Colored peppers were actually less than green peppers at the store this weekend.  That’s pretty unusual!

Then I put in a can of chopped tomatoes.  Again, just layered it right on top 🙂

Then cover it up and bake it at 450 for about 45 minutes.

Voila!

***disclaimer***

I did use a recipe, but I changed a few things.  We got quinoa at Trader Joe’s, and the girl wanted multi-colored, so that’s the first change. (The recipe did say quinoa – which you should try, it’s amazingly good!), but it didn’t specify which kind – they also had just plain old one colored, but who wants that???)

Also, I was supposed to use a green pepper, but since the others were cheaper, I went with that!

And, the recipe called for sausage links.  However, I love – I mean really LOVE – the Farmland spicy sausage.  I could eat it every week.  So, I used that instead.  But, as stated above, I probably would just use regular sausage next time.  Still, I wouldn’t use sausage links, because normally a pound of sausage is cheaper 🙂

The last substitution I made was with the tomatoes.  Really, tomatoes just aren’t good right now.  However, canned tomatoes are good!  The recipe said to wedge a few Roma tomatoes, but I traded that out, as well.

3 Responses to "Sausage and Peppers in the Dutch Oven"

Looks really yummy!

That looks so good. I’m trying to eat less meat but sausage is my love.

I’m with you on sausage – I love that stuff! Thanks for reading again!

Leave a Reply

