Defeat Garden

Roast with Veggies

Posted on: February 20, 2012

Another delicious meal.  Although I can never seem to get it to turn out as well as my Grandmother’s roast.  There was just something about it!

I was going to make this roast yesterday (it being the weekend and all), but discovered that I really didn’t have the time between the boy’s wrestling meet and the girl’s extracurricular activity meeting.  Instead, I made stuffed pepper casserole (which it looks like I also need to add onto here!!!  I’ve been slacking a bit, I guess).  I had the day off today, so I took the time to do it this afternoon.

For the roast you’ll need:

one roast (I used a rump roast)

some salt & pepper

some olive oil

sometimes I use powdered garlic, too, but not today.

Bring the roast to room temperature (by taking it out of the fridge about 1-2 hours before you cook it), sprinkle salt & pepper onto it and massage the oil into the roast.

(Here you see the girl massaging the roast.  She loved it! AND she got to learn how to ready a roast.  Simple!)

For the roasted veggies (don’t skip these, please, they are so delicious, and they really almost literally melt in your mouth!):

one head of cauliflower

2 (or so) heads of broccoli (I got lazy and only bought the heads, but the stalks taste good, too!)

1 head of garlic, peeled (really, you should use 2 or 3 heads – I only made one and the man and I decimated them and were picking through the rest of the veggies looking for more)

salt & pepper

olive oil

Chop the broccoli and cauliflower into bite-sized pieces, throw them into the pan with the garlic cloves, and toss them with some olive oil and salt and pepper.

Throw everything (roast included!) into a 350 degree oven, and cook for approximately 1 hour 15 minutes (for a rare roast).  For rare, you want the inside of your roast to reach 120-125 degrees.  I don’t know about higher degrees of doneness, because nobody in my house ever wants it more done than that!  Honestly, I normally shoot for 120, but then overdo it by a few degrees.

Stir your veggies every half hour or so to ensure that they all have a lovely brown almost-burned crisp to them.  That is what makes them so darn delicious!

And hopefully you don’t have everything done half an hour before supper, like I did today.  I’m never sure what time the man will be home from work (because it varies from day to day), so I guessed, and I was wrong 😦  So I just turned the oven off and placed everything back in to keep it warm (after I let the oven cool down first).

Here is the finished product:

And here is my helping (I took some of the more-done end pieces – the pieces in the middle were actually cooked to about medium and were still pink in the middle):

And one day, I am going to buy smaller plates so that I don’t make myself accidentally eat too much food.  Then my pictures won’t show so much empty space on my plates, either!

Did your Mom or Grandma (or Dad or Grandpa or any other special family member) make an amazing roast?  Do you know their secret?  I would love to learn anything you can tell me!

2 Responses to "Roast with Veggies"

I’ll need to try your recipe one of these days. It’s been years ago when I made roast for Christmas lunch. The leftover were wonderful with salad too. 😉

I even like the leftovers cold! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

