Defeat Garden

Sausage and Fennel Salad

Posted on: February 27, 2012

Wow, this was delicious!  I was in the mood to make a new dish this week, and even though I didn’t really feel like cooking tonight, I pulled this one together pretty quickly.

I’m not really sure where I got the recipe from, but I think it was from an old Rachel Ray magazine.  I cut out recipes when I see something that looks good, but then forget to mark where I got them from!  I’ll give you the recipe I have and put my changes in parenthesis.

4 large fennel bulbs – quartered lengthwise, cored and thinly sliced (I used 2 rather large fennel bulbs, but I had to go out of my way to get them – the fennel at the store I went to this weekend were small and rather sickly looking…)

2 cups dried cranberries (I did not use this much!  Maybe 3/4 or 1 cup)

2 cups pecan pieces, toasted (I only used about 3/4 cup, and I didn’t take the time to toast them)

1 bunch parsley leaves (I cheated and used dried!)

1 small red onion, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced

1/4 cup white wine vinegar (I used red wine vinegar)

1 T dijon mustard

1/4 cup plus 2 T olive oil

salt and pepper

4 pieces sweet Italian sausage (except I had hot Italian sausage…whoops!)

*Combine the first five ingredients in a big bowl.  I got to use the slicer that my lovely sister bought me for a Christmas gift to do this.  Those things scare me!  The first time I ever had one, I was washing it before I used it, and I dropped it.  Silly me, I caught it…on my hand…and sliced myself pretty good.  I then threw it away and haven’t used one since!  But I managed, and it was actually pretty nice.  I was just very very careful 🙂

*Combine the vinegar, mustard, and 1/4 cup olive oil in a smaller bowl with salt & pepper to taste.

It looks kind of silly like this.  This is a pretty basic salad dressing, so if you ever want a nice light salad dressing, you can do this!

Cook the Italian sausage in a pan with the rest of the olive oil.  Cook it until it’s nice and browned on the sides.  I think that the next time I do this, I will slice the sausage before I cook it – it sure is easier to slice when it’s cold!

Once your sausage is cooked, combine the veggies with your dressing.

The boy helped me with this part – I told him to smile, and this is what I got:

I can’t decide if he was scared or just being silly 🙂

You can toss the sausage into the salad if you want, but we had ours on the side tonight.

Enjoy!  It’s got a nice light flavor that I think would be great for summer picnics.  Too bad it’s February!

2 Responses to "Sausage and Fennel Salad"

This dish looks wonderful. I’ve never cooked with fennel before but thanks to your recipe, I can now finally give it a try. 😉

I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

