Defeat Garden

Naked Reubens

Posted on: April 17, 2012

Yum.  That is all I have to say right now!  We just finished supper, and it was delicious!

Interested?  Read on, my friends!

Not only was this absolutely delicious, but it was much easier than it looks!  I was trying to figure out how to use the corned beef that I found at the store this weekend (and the sauerkraut – love that stuff!) without making Reuben sandwiches, since I’m not a bread fan any more.  I looked up bunches of Reuben casserole recipes last night, and one of the blogs that I read, 24/7 Low Carb Diner, (her latest recipe looks delicious, too!) makes food in cupcake tins fairly often, so I kind of mashed up bunches of recipes and made this one.  A lot of the recipes combined things, and many of them used mustard and mayonnaise, but I didn’t get that fancy.

I also wouldn’t recommend using the muffin tins unless you’re more patient at clean-up than I am…I did not enjoy cleaning those up tonight!  But, I suppose it would have helped if I would have sprayed the tins before I baked in them.  You’d think I’d remember that, but it’s been so long since I used them.  I actually had to dig for them in the basement tonight!

I can pretty much give you a step-by-step picture tutorial 🙂

First, the ingredients:

Corned beef, shredded (I cooked mine in the crockpot today while I was at work, which made this even easier)

Sauerkraut (I eat this stuff plain, I admit – but only when nobody’s looking…shhhh!)

Thousand Island dressing

Swiss cheese (it’s best if it’s not melted like mine was…I forgot the cheese this weekend so I picked some up over lunch. Thought it would be okay in my car, but I guess I was wrong!)

That’s it!

 

 

First, I put about half the jar of sauerkraut in the bottom of the tins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I added some corned beef to each tin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then some Thousand Island dressing (although the girl and the man said I should have used more…but I was running out!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then some shredded Swiss cheese (although many of the recipes I read used different cheeses, like pepper jack)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then stick it in the oven on low (350 F) for about 15-20 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The boy loves these.  He said it’s even better than lasagna.  That’s some pretty big praise coming from him, too!  He requested this for his birthday meal, but we’ll have to wait and see if he remembers it at the end of August 🙂

Just in case you were wondering what I did with the rest of that meat (because no way is one big corned beef brisket going to fit into 12 little muffin tins!), I did the same layering principle in a small casserole dish and cooked it at the same time.  Now I’m debating either serving it for leftovers this week or freezing it to serve again in a few weeks.  Somehow I have the feeling that it won’t make it past this week.

That one looks pretty delicious, as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

