Defeat Garden

Holy It’s Hot Outside!

Posted on: June 27, 2012

It is very hot today.  As I type (at 7:00 pm) it is still 100 degrees!  And while, yes, that kind of temperature is normal in my state during the summer, it’s normally not quite this hot until the end of July or into August.  That said, I’ll try not to complain too much more about the heat 🙂

I didn’t really make a recipe today so much as cooked some food.  But, my family all liked it, so I thought I’d share it with you.

Image

It’s pork chops (cut in half) with mashed cauliflower and the reduced marinade.  Simple, really, and all doable on the stovetop.

My friend who’s been watching my kids for me for the last couple of weeks gave me a bunch of marinades that she had because her silly boyfriend doesn’t like to experiment with seasonings/spices/herbs.  So I’ve been taking advantage of the ready-made marinades.  I’ve decided that I should really do some of that on my own, because the man, the girl and the boy have really liked it both times so far that I’ve made them!

All I did was throw the marinade in a bag with some water and olive oil, then tossed the pork chops in for about 15 minutes.  Tonight it was a chipotle marinade, and last time it was a fajita seasoning.  I’m also looking forward to trying the tequila flavored one… 🙂

While that was sitting, I chopped up a head of cauliflower and boiled it on the stove.

When I started cooking the pork chops, I put the rest of the marinade in a small saucepan and boiled it for about 10 minutes.  I drained the cauliflower and then mashed it with about 3 T of butter, some salt & pepper, and a little garlic powder (because I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to actually peel and chop the garlic).  Spoon some of the marinade on top of the cauliflower and some on top of your meat, and:

Voila!  Dinner is served!

So, not really a recipe, but a good, fairly quick, and healthy dinner.

Now to sit back and relax indoors in our lovely air conditioned house 🙂

And check out this amazing idea for a sandwich that I found earlier today:

http://dannyskitchen.me/2012/06/17/a-non-traditional-triple-decker-created-by-a-crazy-man-in-the-kitchen/

Definitely a new blog for me to follow 🙂

2 Responses to "Holy It’s Hot Outside!"

I have never had mashed cauliflower. I wonder what other foods could be mashed. Have you mashed other foods? Broccoli seems a lot like cauliflower. Can you mash broccoli?

I have mashed potatoes and I have mashed cauliflower…I haven’t mashed broccoli, but I have used an immersion blender on it to make soup – does that count? 😉
I agree, I think that broccoli and cauliflower are similar. My favorite way to make them is to roast them in the oven…but it’s SOOOO hot outside!

Leave a Reply

